Suspension and Restoration
What you need to know regarding the suspension, revocation and restoration of driving privileges.
Suspension and Restoration
The DMV administers and enforces motor vehicle statutes that have a direct effect on an individual's driving record history and the status of license/operating and vehicle registration privileges. The status of license/operating and vehicle registration privileges may be indicated as suspended/revoked as the result of conviction information being received from the courts or through administrative actions imposed by the Department of Safety, Bureau of Hearings or Division of Motor Vehicles.
Suspension/Revocation may be imposed against the following:
- License/Operating privileges.
- New Hampshire vehicle registration privileges.
- Commercial Driver License privilege.
- School Bus Certificate.
Notices or confirmation of suspension/revocation are mailed to the mailing address on file with the NH DMV at the time the notice was generated. It is important that address changes are reported directly to the NH DMV. Please be advised that updating your address with the United States Postal Service will not result in the update of information on file with NH DMV.
Reasons for Suspension/Revocation
Default Court Summons
The term “default” represents failure to respond to or answer a traffic citation/ticket to the DOS-DMV or a court within 30 days of receiving the citation/ticket.
Drivers Under Twenty (20) Years of Age
Pursuant to RSA 263:14 Original and Youth Operators’ Licenses, the Director of Motor Vehicles is authorized to revoke or suspend any original license held by a person under 20 years of age after a hearing:
- Upon showing by its records or other sufficient evidence that the driver has committed certain motor vehicle offenses. The periods of suspension or revocations are:
- 20 days for the first offense.
- 45 days for the second offense.
- 90 days for the third or subsequent offense.
- Upon receipt of proper evidence or information of misconduct, misuse, or abuse of such driving privileges. Circumstances of misuse, abuse or misconduct of driving privileges shall include driving behavior which poses an immediate hazard to the operator or to the safety or property of others on or near the roadway, or, when considered with other driving offenses, which demonstrates a repeated disregard for public safety.
- Upon proper evidence or information that the license holder was involved in an accident resulting in the death or serious bodily injury.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
It is dangerous and against the law to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs including prescription or over-the-counter drugs that may impair the ability to drive. It is considered legally intoxicated if a driver’s blood alcohol content is .08% or higher, .02% or higher if the driver is under 21 years old.
Refusal of Alcohol Testing (“Implied Consent”)
Any person who operates a motor vehicle in New Hampshire is considered to have given consent to having their blood, breath, urine, or any combination tested if arrested for an alcohol or drug offense. Refusal to allow testing may result in loss of driving privileges.
Excessive Accrual of Demerit Points
Accruing excessive points may result in loss of driving privileges. Demerit points may range in size depending on the offense. Points are accrued for violations such as speeding, failure to obey traffic lights, driving while intoxicated, improper passing and failure to obey a stop sign. The consequences from the accrual of Demerit points may also vary depending on the driver’s age. For more information, please visit our Demerit Points webpage.
State Reciprocity for Non-Commercial Driver License Operators
Violations occurring out-of-state may be reported to New Hampshire and may affect a driver’s driving record and driving privileges. It is important to be familiar with laws and rules of the road whenever operating a vehicle in another State, such as seat belt use and insurance requirements. New Hampshire will suspend the license/operating privileges of an individual for unpaid out-of-state convictions or court defaults. New Hampshire will suspend the license/operating privileges of an individual whose license/operating privileges have been suspended by another state.
New Hampshire may deny the privilege to drive to persons who, by their conduct and record, have shown indifference for the safety and welfare of others, disrespect for the laws of the state, and indifference to orders of the courts or administrative agencies.
If the Director of Motor Vehicles finds that a person’s record contains the number of valid convictions required by law, that person shall appear for a Hearing. If after the hearing they are deemed to be a Habitual Offender, the Director shall revoke the person’s driving privileges for 1 to 4 years. If a driver is convicted of driving after being declared a Habitual Offender, that person may be subject to imprisonment for not less than one year, and up to five (5) years.
Disqualification of Commercial Driver License Privileges
The state is in compliance with the federally mandated disqualifications on Commercial Driver License Operators.
Restoration of Privileges
How to Pay Fees
Reinstatement fees may be paid:
- By calling the Credit Card Payment line at 1-800-272-0036 from 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m., excluding holidays;
- Through our Drop Box Service at the Concord DMV (check only, made payable to “State of NH-DMV”, and include a note indicating what the payment is for, and include the name and date of birth of person being restored);
- Or by making an appointment at the Concord DMV (credit card, check or cash payments accepted).
- License/Operating Privilege
- Commercial Driver License/Operating Privilege
- Original/Youth Operator/License
- Registration Privilege Restoration Fee
- Single Registration Privilege Restoration fee (Maybe imposed in addition to the Registration Privilege Fee)
Administrative Late Fee
If a traffic citation/ticket has not been received within 30 days from the date that ticket was issued, a $50 Administrative Late Fee will be imposed.