Skip to main content
scroll to top

Apply For Your First Drivers License/Non Driver ID

What you need to know about applying for your first Drivers License, Non Driver ID card, or Commercial Driver License.

Driver License

When applying for your first Driver License, you must request an appointment for a Driver License Knowledge Test. The following are requirements for all applicants requesting a first time Driver License:

Under 18 Applicants

Applicants under the age of 18 are required to attend an approved Driver Education Course, and should review all Driving Licensing Requirements for Minors.

Information for Non US Citizens

Permanent Residents/Refugees/Asylees/VISA and Work Authorization Card Holders should review the required documents for Non US citizens.

Non Driver ID Card

New Hampshire offers Non Driver Identification cards to residents who do not qualify for a driver license. An applicant must be a New Hampshire resident who is at least 12 years of age and who does not currently have a valid driver license.

When applying for your first Non Driver ID card, you must request an appointment for a Non Driver ID card. The following are requirements for all applicants requesting a first time Non Driver ID:

  • Completed Application for Driver License (DSMV 450).
  • Proof of Identity and Residency. Please review our Required Documents list for the type of license you wish to get: REAL ID compliant or non-compliant (not REAL ID).
  • Appropriate Fee
  • You may be required to bring additional documents to your specific appointment. Please review the list below:
    • Permanent Residents/Refugees/Asylees/VISA and Work Authorization Card Holders should review the required documents for Non US citizens.

You will be issued a 60-day, temporary paper identification card and the permanent card will be mailed to you. The permanent Non Driver Identification card will be valid for 5 years.

Voter Identification Law

Information about the Voter Identification Law of 2012 along with an Explanatory Document on how the Voter Identification law will be implemented can be found at the New Hampshire Secretary of State's website or by contacting the Secretary of State Elections Division.

Commercial Driver License

If you wish to apply for a Commercial Driver License, please visit our Commercial Driver License page for specific information on obtaining a CDL Permit.e, otherwise you will have to make another appointment with the DMV before being able to schedule a Road Skills test.