Commercial Driver Learner Permit
What you need to know to obtain a CDL Permit.
Pursuant to New Hampshire laws RSA 263:88, and 263:25, Administrative Rule Saf-C 1810.01, and Federal law 49CFR 383.25, a Commercial Driver Learner Permit is provided to applicants who are applying for a Commercial Driver License (CDL), or who currently hold a CDL but wish to upgrade, or remove restriction.
The holder of a Commercial Driver Learner Permit may drive a commercial motor vehicle only when accompanied by a person 25 years of age or older who holds a Commercial Driver License for the type of vehicle driven, and who must occupy the seat immediately adjacent to the individual holding the permit. In the case of a school bus or motor coach, the CDL holder shall occupy the seat directly behind or in the first row behind the driver.
A Commercial Driver Learner Permit is valid for 180 days; however, it may be renewed one time as long as the required knowledge examinations were successfully completed within a one year period. If your knowledge examinations were taken more than one year ago, you must re-take the knowledge tests to be eligible for the renewed permit.
Eligible drivers may apply for a Commercial Driver Learner Permit in person at any DMV location.
To get a Commercial Driver Learner Permit, applicants must:
- Hold a valid New Hampshire Driver License
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a valid medical card on file with the DMV
- Bring a completed CDL Application
- Pay the appropriate fees
- Successfully pass all applicable knowledge examinations
- Permit holders with a passenger (P) endorsement may not carry passengers other than the accompanying CDL holder, Federal/State auditors, inspectors, and test examiners.
- Permit holders with a school bus (S) endorsement are prohibited from operating a school bus with passengers other than the accompanying CDL holder, Federal/State auditors, inspectors, and test examiners.
- Permit holders with a tank vehicle (N) endorsement may only operate an empty tank vehicle and is prohibited from operating any tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous materials that has not been purged of any residue.
- Permit holders are prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous materials.
How to Schedule a Road Test
Upon successful completion of all applicable knowledge examinations, the road examination may be scheduled no sooner than fourteen (14) days from the issuance of the Commercial Driver Learner Permit at any DMV office, or you may call (603) 227-4020.